Ahmed Lawan Wins Senate Precidency


After garnering 79 votes over his closest contender who got 28 votes in the secret ballot election held at the Senate chamber, Senator Ahmad Lawan having the support of his party (All Progressives Congress –APC), the Presidency and all the Governors within the APC fold was announced by the clerk of the National Assembly -CNA, Mohammed Sani-Omolori as the winner who would lead the 9th National Assembly.

Senator Lawan who becomes the New Senate President was immediately sworn in after taking the oath of allegiance and that of office before the CNA.

Senator Lawan representing Yobe North is a member of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and was first elected to the House of Representatives in 1999.

Similarly Senator Ovie Omo-Agege of the APC who polled 68 votes to defeat Ekweremadu of the Peoples Democratic Party -PDP has also emerged as the 9th Senate’s deputy President.

The controversial Omo-Agege was alleged in 2018 to have aided the invasion the chamber by thugs to steal the mace.

However a drama played out when a former governor of Imo State Rochas Okorocha who arrived the National Assembly premises at about 7:40.am ahead of the inauguration was denied accreditation thus disallowing him entrance into the Senate chamber.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here